Natural Hazards key contacts

Contacts for our natural hazards services.

Position: 
Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0368
Email: 
Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz
Sam is the Chief Scientist for the Climate and Atmosphere Centre. He is an expert on using climate models to understand the drivers of climate variability in New Zealand and Antarctica, and in particular human-induced climate change. His research has been able to identify the contribution of human-induced warming to intensifying current New Zealand weather extremes, including droughts and floods. Recently he has been part of a team investigating the interactions between Antarctic sea-ice, atmospheric circulation and the Southern Ocean. He joined NIWA in 2006 and commenced his current role as Chief Scientist in 2015.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Philip Barnes Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Philip.Barnes@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0372
Dr Rob Bell Principal Scientist - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rob.Bell@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1742
Jochen Bind Hydrodynamics and GIS Technician Jochen.Bind@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8021
Tony Bromley Principal Technician - Atmosphere Tony.Bromley@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0340
Dr Trevor Carey-Smith Climate Scientist Trevor.Carey-Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0394
Amelia Connell Marine Biology Technician Amelia.Connell@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0571
Dr Sam Dean Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0368
Maurice Duncan Hydrologist Maurice.Duncan@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7863
Dr Richard Gorman Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Richard.Gorman@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1736
Roddy Henderson Hydrologist Roddy.Henderson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7873
Dr Murray Hicks Principal Scientist - River and Coastal Geomorphology Murray.Hicks@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7872
Dr Darren King Environmental Scientist Darren.King@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2086
Dr Geoffroy Lamarche Principal Scientist - Marine Geology Geoffroy.Lamarche@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0465
Andrea Mari Research Software Engineer Andrea.Mari@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0912
Dr Alistair McKerchar Hydrologist Alistair.McKerchar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7870
Richard Measures Hydrodynamics Scientist Richard.Measures@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8066
Bernard Miville Manager Operational Forecasting Bernard.Miville@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0889
Dr Joshu Mountjoy Marine Geologist Joshu.Mountjoy@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0336
Lisa Northcote Marine Geology Technician Lisa.Northcote@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0380
Ron Ovenden Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Technician Ron.Ovenden@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1721
George Payne Principal Technician - Water Quality George.Payne@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1767
Doug Ramsay Manager, Pacific Rim Doug.Ramsay@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1894
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch and Nelson Helen.Rouse@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8037
Dr Shailesh Singh Hydrologist Shailesh.Singh@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8053
Dr Scott Stephens Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Scientist Scott.Stephens@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1745
Julian Sykes Freshwater Ecology and GIS Technician Julian.Sykes@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7844
Kathy Walter Principal Technician - Environmental Information Kathy.Walter@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7897
Dr Shaun Williams Hazard Analyst Shaun.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7880
Dr Christian Zammit Hydrologist Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7879