Fisheries key contacts

Contacts for our fisheries services.

Real name: 
Dr
Rosemary
Hurst
Position: 
Chief Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0867
Email (displayed): 
Rosemary.Hurst@niwa.co.nz
Rosie has a PhD in Zoology and has worked in fisheries research in New Zealand since 1979. She is a specialist in middle depth and inshore fisheries resource surveys and stock assessment, climate effects on fisheries, and fish communities. She was also a Regional Manager at NIWA Wellington for eight years. 
Dr
Richard
O'Driscoll
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0876
Email (displayed): 
richard.odriscoll@niwa.co.nz
Richard specialises in research aimed at improving estimates of fish abundance using acoustics, trawling, and complementary technologies. Since attaining his PhD from University of Otago in 1997, he has had extensive sea-going and practical fisheries experience both in New Zealand and overseas, including the Antarctic. Richard is an active member of the ICES Working Group on Fisheries Acoustics Science and Technology. He has worked at NIWA since 2000 and currently leads the Middle-Depth Fisheries and Acoustics Group and is a programme leader for the NIWA's National Centre for Fisheries Assessing Fishery Resources programme. 
Real name: 
Dr
Stuart
Hanchet
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-3-545-7739
Email (displayed): 
Stuart.Hanchet@niwa.co.nz
Dr Stuart Hanchet specialises in research on inshore and middle depth fish and fisheries and more recently the Antarctic toothfish fishery in the Ross Sea. He is currently programme leader of a FRST project looking at the sustainability of the Ross Sea and has been leading the development, implementation, and post-voyage analysis of New Zealand's survey to the Ross Sea in 2008, which was part of New Zealand's contribution to the International Polar Year (IPY). He has been a New Zealand delegate to the Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR) since the mid 1990s and was convenor of its Working Group on Fish Stock assessment between 2004 and 2007. 
Real name: 
Dr
Ian
Tuck
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-9-375-4505
Email (displayed): 
Ian.Tuck@niwa.co.nz
Ian has a background in European fisheries, having worked in Scotland before moving to New Zealand to join NIWA in 2006. He is particularly interested in scampi and shellfish fisheries and was heavily involved in scampi assessment within the ICES system. For NIWA, he leads scampi research, survey, and assessment activities. Ian also leads research that investigates the effects of fishing on the seabed and ecosystem indicator development. He currently leads the Fisheries and Marine Ecology group in Auckland. 
Real name: 
Dr
Malcolm
Clark
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0523
Email (displayed): 
Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm began his research career in the 1980s as a fisheries biologist. He worked extensively on stock assessment of deepwater fish (in particular orange roughy), before broadening his research interests to more general deep-sea ecosystems. He studied seamounts for many years, and headed the Census of Marine Life on Seamounts, a major 6 year international research programme. His studies have involved a lot of time at sea; with over 70 surveys, including submersible dives, and international work in the Antarctic and southwest Pacific. Currently he leads NIWA research projects describing the biodiversity of deep-sea habitats, assessing ecological risk to these habitats and communities from fishing and mining activities, and ways to improve the management of environmental impacts. 
Real name: 
Dr
Malcolm
Francis
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0377
Email (displayed): 
Malcolm.Francis@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm is a fisheries scientist and marine ecologist who studies the population biology of coastal and pelagic fishes. He has particular interests in cartilaginous fishes (sharks, skates and chimaeras), estuarine fishes, migration and behaviour, and age and growth. Recent research projects include tagging studies of the migratory and diving behaviour of great white sharks, and the use of New Zealand estuaries as nursery grounds by juvenile fish and sharks. 

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Mr Owen Anderson Fisheries Scientist Owen.Anderson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0863
Mrs Helena Armiger Fisheries Technician Helena.Armiger@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2034
Mr Neil Bagley Fisheries Scientist Neil.Bagley@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0875
Ms Suze Baird Fisheries Scientist Suze.Baird@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0487
Dr Cindy Baker Principal Scientist - Freshwater Fish Cindy.Baker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1774
Ms Sira Ballara Fisheries Scientist Sira.Ballara@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0871
Dr Mike Beentjes Fisheries Scientist Mike.Beentjes@niwa.co.nz +64-3-471-7767
Dr Richard Bian Fisheries Scientist Richard.Bian@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2054
Mr Dane Buckthought Marine Ecology Technician Dane.Buckthought@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2079
Dr Malcolm Clark Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0523
Mr Peter de Joux Electronics Technician Peter.DeJoux@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0905
Mr Ralph Dickson Environmental Monitoring Technician Ralph.Dickson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7733
Dr Ian Doonan Senior Fisheries Modeller Ian.Doonan@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0825
Mr David Fisher Principal Technician - Fisheries David.Fisher@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0865
Mr Dan Fu Fisheries Modeller Dan.Fu@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0840
Dr Stuart Hanchet Principal Scientist - Fisheries Stuart.Hanchet@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7739
Mr Alan Hart Marine Biology Technician Alan.Hart@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0868
Mr Bruce Hartill Fisheries Scientist Bruce.Hartill@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2067
Mr Peter Horn Fisheries Scientist Peter.Horn@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0812
Dr Rosemary Hurst Chief Scientist - Fisheries Rosemary.Hurst@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0867
Dr Emma Jones Marine Ecologist Emma.Jones@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2056
Mr Iain Jupp Research Assistant Iain.Jupp@niwa.co.nz
Dr Yoann Ladroit Fisheries Acoustics Scientist Yoann.Ladroit@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0906
Mr Dan MacGibbon Fisheries Scientist Dan.MacGibbon@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0496
Mr Peter Marriott Principal Technician - Marine Biology Peter.Marriott@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0864
Ms Vidette McGregor Ecosystem Modeller Vidette.McGregor@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0851
Dr Andy McKenzie Fisheries Modeller Andy.McKenzie@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0843
Mr Peter McMillan Fisheries Scientist Peter.McMillan@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0580
Mr Andrew Miller Marine Ecology Technician andrew.miller@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7887
Dr Sophie Mormede Fisheries Modeller Sophie.Mormede@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0513
Dr Richard O'Driscoll Principal Scientist - Fisheries richard.odriscoll@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0876
Dr Darren Parsons Marine Ecologist Darren.Parsons@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4531
Catriona Paterson Fisheries Technician Catriona.Paterson@niwa.co.nz
Miss Nicola Rush Fisheries Technician Nicola.Rush@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4500
Keren Spong Marine Ecology Technician Keren.Spong@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2066
Mr Darren Stevens Fisheries Scientist Darren.Stevens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0874
Mr Michael Stevenson Fisheries Technician Michael.Stevenson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7732
Mr Colin Sutton Fisheries Technician Colin.Sutton@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7738
Ms Di Tracey Fisheries Scientist Di.Tracey@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0866
Dr Ian Tuck Principal Scientist - Fisheries Ian.Tuck@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4505
Mrs Joeye Vorster Data Technician Joeye.Vorster@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0911
Mr Fred Wei Principal Technician - Fisheries Fred.Wei@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0596
Dr James Williams Fisheries Scientist James.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2062
Mr Brent Wood Principal Technician - GIS and Spatial Data Management Brent.Wood@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0529
Mr Jeremy Yeoman Fisheries Technician Jeremy.Yeoman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0542