Fisheries key contacts

Contacts for our fisheries services.

Position: 
Chief Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0867
Email: 
Rosemary.Hurst@niwa.co.nz
Rosie has a PhD in Zoology and has worked in fisheries research in New Zealand since 1979. She is a specialist in middle depth and inshore fisheries resource surveys and stock assessment, climate effects on fisheries, and fish communities. She was also a Regional Manager at NIWA Wellington for eight years. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0876
Email: 
richard.odriscoll@niwa.co.nz
Richard specialises in research aimed at improving estimates of fish abundance using acoustics, trawling, and complementary technologies. Since attaining his PhD from University of Otago in 1997, he has had extensive sea-going and practical fisheries experience both in New Zealand and overseas, including the Antarctic. Richard is the current chair (2017-19) of the ICES Working Group on Fisheries Acoustics Science and Technology. He has worked at NIWA since 2000 and is currently a programme leader for NIWA's National Centre for Fisheries Assessing Fishery Resources programme. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-9-375-4505
Email: 
Ian.Tuck@niwa.co.nz
Ian has a background in European fisheries, having worked in Scotland before moving to New Zealand. He completed his PhD on scampi fisheries ecology in the early 1990s, before joining the FRS Marine Laboratory in Aberdeen. He has particular interests in scampi, and other shellfish fisheries, having been heavily involved in scampi assessment within the ICES system, and leading scampi research, survey and assessment activities for NIWA. He also has research experience investigating the effects of fishing on the seabed, and ecosystem indicators, and currently leads research in these areas. He has worked at NIWA since 2006, is a Principal Scientist in the Fisheries Centre, and leads the Fisheries Environmental Impacts Programme. Ian holds a co-appointment in the NIWA/Joint Graduate School in Coastal and Marine Science (1 day a week), through the Department of Statistics.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0523
Email: 
Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm began his research career in the 1980s as a fisheries biologist. He worked extensively on stock assessment of deepwater fish (in particular orange roughy), before broadening his research interests to more general deep-sea ecosystems. He studied seamounts for many years, and headed the Census of Marine Life on Seamounts, a major 6 year international research programme. His studies have involved a lot of time at sea; with over 70 surveys, including submersible dives, and international work in the Antarctic and southwest Pacific. Currently he leads NIWA research projects describing the biodiversity of deep-sea habitats, assessing ecological risk to these habitats and communities from fishing and mining activities, and ways to improve the management of environmental impacts. Malcolm gained his PhD from Victoria University of Wellington in 1982, and since then has specialised in the biology and ecology of deepwater fish and fisheries, particularly orange roughy. He has extensive seagoing experience with over 70 voyages. Recently he has worked largely on international fisheries and helped develop the FAO guidelines on deep-sea fishing in the high seas. Malcolm currently heads NIWA research programmes on deep sea communities, impacts from fishing and mining, and developing risk assessment methods for New Zealand deepwater fisheries. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0377
Email: 
Malcolm.Francis@niwa.co.nz
Malcolm is a fisheries scientist and marine ecologist who has been studying the population biology of cartilaginous fishes for over 40 years. He specialises in investigations of migration and behaviour, age and growth, reproduction, trends in abundance and fishery bycatch. Recent research projects include tracking great white and mako sharks, estimating the mortality rates of sharks and rays discarded by tuna longliners, and assessing the population status of sharks caught in commercial fisheries. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Fisheries
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0805
Email: 
Matt.Dunn@niwa.co.nz
Matt has a Ph.D. in fisheries stock assessment from the University of Portsmouth (UK), and has worked in New Zealand since 2003. Matt has worked primarily on the biology and stock assessment of deep water fishes, from field work and biological studies, through to Bayesian stock assessment modelling. Matt has also worked on inshore fisheries, impacts of climate on fisheries, chondrichthyan biology, and food webs and ecosystem models. Matt is a member of various NZ Ministry for Primary Industries working groups, has conducted scientific research and reviews for agencies in Australia, Europe, South America, and the USA, and is currently a programme leader for the NIWA National Centre for Fisheries Assessing Fishery Resources programme.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Owen Anderson Fisheries Scientist Owen.Anderson@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0863
Helena Armiger Fisheries Technician Helena.Armiger@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2034
Neil Bagley Fisheries Scientist Neil.Bagley@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0875
Suze Baird Fisheries Scientist Suze.Baird@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0487
Dr Cindy Baker Principal Scientist - Freshwater Fish Cindy.Baker@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1774
Sira Ballara Fisheries Scientist Sira.Ballara@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0871
Dr Mike Beentjes Fisheries Scientist Mike.Beentjes@niwa.co.nz +64-3-471-7767
Dr Richard Bian Fisheries Scientist Richard.Bian@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2054
Dr Jaret Bilewitch Molecular Technician Jaret.Bilewitch@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0502
Dane Buckthought Marine Ecology Technician Dane.Buckthought@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2079
Dr Malcolm Clark Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Clark@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0523
Dr Samik Datta Fisheries Modeller Samik.Datta@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0522
Peter de Joux Electronics Technician Peter.DeJoux@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0905
Ralph Dickson Environmental Monitoring Technician Ralph.Dickson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7733
Dr Ian Doonan Senior Fisheries Modeller Ian.Doonan@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0825
Dr Matt Dunn Principal Scientist - Fisheries Matt.Dunn@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0805
Dr Pablo Escobar-Flores Fisheries Scientist Pablo.Escobar-Flores@niwa.co.nz +64-4-382-1610
Mark Fenwick Marine Ecology Technician Mark.Fenwick@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0804
David Fisher Principal Technician - Fisheries David.Fisher@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0865
Dr Malcolm Francis Principal Scientist - Fisheries Malcolm.Francis@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0377
Alan Hart Marine Biology Technician Alan.Hart@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0868
Bruce Hartill Fisheries Scientist Bruce.Hartill@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2067
Peter Horn Fisheries Scientist Peter.Horn@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0812
Dr Rosemary Hurst Chief Scientist - Fisheries Rosemary.Hurst@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0867
Dr Emma Jones Marine Ecologist Emma.Jones@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2056
Dr Yoann Ladroit Fisheries Acoustics Scientist Yoann.Ladroit@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0906
Dan MacGibbon Fisheries Scientist Dan.MacGibbon@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0496
Peter Marriott Principal Technician - Marine Biology Peter.Marriott@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0864
Vidette McGregor Ecosystem Modeller Vidette.McGregor@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0851
Dr Andy McKenzie Fisheries Modeller Andy.McKenzie@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0843
Peter McMillan Fisheries Scientist Peter.McMillan@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0580
Andrew Miller Marine Ecology Technician andrew.miller@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7887
Dr Sophie Mormede Fisheries Modeller Sophie.Mormede@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0513
Dr Richard O'Driscoll Principal Scientist - Fisheries richard.odriscoll@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0876
Derrick Parkinson Principal Technician - Fisheries Derrick.Parkinson@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2064
Dr Darren Parsons Marine Ecologist Darren.Parsons@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4531
Christopher Ray Electronics Technician chris.ray@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0908
Kura Reihana Data Entry Operator Kura.Reihana@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0521
Dr Ashley Rowden Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology Ashley.Rowden@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0334
Nicola Rush Fisheries Technician Nicola.Rush@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4500
Dr Alexandre Schimel Fisheries Acoustics Scientist Alexandre.Schimel@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0510
Keren Spong Marine Ecology Technician Keren.Spong@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2066
Darren Stevens Fisheries Scientist Darren.Stevens@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0874
Colin Sutton Fisheries Technician Colin.Sutton@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7738
Di Tracey Fisheries Scientist Di.Tracey@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0866
Dr Ian Tuck Principal Scientist - Fisheries Ian.Tuck@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4505
Joeye Vorster Data Entry Supervisor Joeye.Vorster@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0911
Fred Wei Database Administrator Fred.Wei@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0596
Dr James Williams Fisheries Scientist James.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2062
Caroline Wood Data Manager Caroline.Wood@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0915
Brent Wood Principal Technician - GIS and Spatial Data Management Brent.Wood@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0529
Jeremy Yeoman Data Manager Jeremy.Yeoman@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0542