Climate key contacts

Key contacts for Climate services

Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards
Sam is the Chief Scientist for the Climate and Atmosphere Centre. He is an expert on using climate models to understand the drivers of climate variability in New Zealand and Antarctica, and in particular human-induced climate change. His research has been able to identify the contribution of human-induced warming to intensifying current New Zealand weather extremes, including droughts and floods. Recently he has been part of a team investigating the interactions between Antarctic sea-ice, atmospheric circulation and the Southern Ocean. He joined NIWA in 2006 and commenced his current role as Chief Scientist in 2015.
Principal Scientist - Climate Applications
Drew joined NIWA in 2007 and uses a diverse background in climate science, environmental science and geology to improve understanding of the global climate system. He leads the NIWA Climate Present and Past project that has achieved hundreds of scientific outputs since 2009, including a dendroclimatology lab and ancient kauri archive based at NIWA. Drew is a co-lead of the Southern Hemisphere Assessment of PalaeoEnvironments (SHAPE) focus group supported by the International Quaternary Union (INQUA). Drew’s current research focuses on integrating different lines of surface climate evidence in modern analog models to establish how Southern Hemisphere atmospheric circulation processes contributed to past climate variability and change.
Principal Scientist - Climate
Andrew is a Principal Scientist with the National Climate Centre. He leads and manages multi-year multi-organisation research contracts and interacts with internal and external modellers and assessors of climate data and related impacts. Andrew analyses and interprets climate data in response to commercial requests for information, oversees the provision of relevant up-to-date climate information on the NIWA webpages, and acts as a NCC liaison with the media. He also fosters and promotes effective end-user communication of climate science and its applications. 
Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate
Olaf holds a PhD in meteorology and worked in the UK and Germany on the development of atmospheric chemistry and chemistry-climate models. He is leading the NIWA Climate Variability and Change Programme, which focusses on using global and regional climate models and a hydrology model to predict climate globally and for the New Zealand region, ranging from seasonal to centennial timescales. He is leading the Earth System Modelling and Predictions programme for the Deep South National Science Challenge, which is tasked with developing and exploiting the New Zealand Earth System Model and to downscale these results. He is a Lead Author of the 6th Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), is representing NIWA in the Unified Model Global Model Configuration Group, and is a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the Chemistry-Climate Model Initiative (CCMI). He has been involved in the past three WMO Scientific Assessments of Ozone Depletion, in 2010 as a Lead Author.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Rob Bell Principal Scientist - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes +64-7-856-1742
Tony Bromley Principal Technician - Atmosphere +64-4-386-0340
Dr Trevor Carey-Smith Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0394
Dr Steve Chiswell Physical Oceanographer +64-4-386-0351
Amelia Connell Marine Biology Technician +64-4-386-0571
Dr Jono Conway Hydrological Forecasting Scientist +64-3-440-0409
Dr Sam Dean Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards +64-4-386-0368
Wills Dobson Atmospheric Technician +64-3-440-0406
Dr Nicolas Fauchereau Climate Scientist +64-9-375-6332
Nava Fedaeff Climate Scientist +64-9-375-6337
Andrew Harper Principal Technician - Climate +64-3-343-7824
Roddy Henderson Hydrologist +64-3-343-7873
Dr Darren King Environmental Scientist +64-9-375-2086
Michael Kotkamp Atmospheric Technician +64-3-440-0434
Errol Lewthwaite Principal Technician - Climate +64-4-386-0472
Ben Liley Atmospheric Scientist +64-3-440-0427
Dr Andrew Lorrey Principal Scientist - Climate Applications +64-9-375-2055
Gregor Macara Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0509
Ross Martin Principal Technician - Atmosphere +64-4-386-0384
Dr Richard McKenzie Emeritus Researcher – Atmospheric Radiation +64-3-440-0429
Dr Sara Mikaloff-Fletcher Atmosphere-Ocean Scientist +64-4-386-0924
Dr Olaf Morgenstern Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate +64-4-386-0928
Dr Brett Mullan Principal Scientist - Climate +64-4-386-0508
Sylvia Nichol Atmospheric Scientist +64-4-386-0396
Alan Porteous Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0533
Dr Richard Querel Atmospheric Scientist +64-3-440-0400
Dr Graham Rickard Marine Physics Modeller +64-4-386-0311
John Robinson Principal Technician - Atmosphere +64-3-440-0433
Dr Suzanne Rosier Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0312
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch and Nelson +64-3-343-8037
Hisako Shiona Atmospheric Technician +64-3-343-7860
Seema Singh Climate Technician +64-4-386-0494
Dan Smale Principal Technician - Atmosphere +64-3-440-0424
Dr Abha Sood Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0577
Dr Tilmann Steinmetz GIS Data Analyst & Administrator +64-4-386-0535
Stephen Stuart Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0353
Dr Andrew Tait Principal Scientist - Climate +64-4-386-0562
Linda Wang Climate Technician +64-4-386-0512
Dr Jonny Williams Climate Scientist +64-4-386-0303
Dr Mike Williams Principal Scientist - Marine Physics +64-4-386-0389
Dr Ed -Yang Yang Meteorologist +64-4-386-0474
Dr Christian Zammit Hydrologist +64-3-343-7879
Dr Guang Zeng Atmospheric Scientist +64-4-386-0929