Climate key contacts

Key contacts for Climate services

Position: 
Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0368
Email: 
Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz
Sam is the Chief Scientist for the Climate and Atmosphere Centre. He is an expert on using climate models to understand the drivers of climate variability in New Zealand and Antarctica, and in particular human-induced climate change. His research has been able to identify the contribution of human-induced warming to intensifying current New Zealand weather extremes, including droughts and floods. Recently he has been part of a team investigating the interactions between Antarctic sea-ice, atmospheric circulation and the Southern Ocean. He joined NIWA in 2006 and commenced his current role as Chief Scientist in 2015.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Climate Applications
Phone: 
+64-9-375-2055
Email: 
Andrew.Lorrey@niwa.co.nz
Drew joined NIWA in 2007 and uses a diverse background in climate science, environmental science and geology to improve understanding of the global climate system. He leads the NIWA Climate Present and Past project that has achieved hundreds of scientific outputs since 2009, including a dendroclimatology lab and ancient kauri archive based at NIWA. Drew is a co-lead of the Southern Hemisphere Assessment of PalaeoEnvironments (SHAPE) focus group supported by the International Quaternary Union (INQUA). Drew’s current research focuses on integrating different lines of surface climate evidence in modern analog models to establish how Southern Hemisphere atmospheric circulation processes contributed to past climate variability and change.
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Climate
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0562
Email: 
Andrew.Tait@niwa.co.nz
Andrew is a Principal Scientist with the National Climate Centre. He leads and manages multi-year multi-organisation research contracts and interacts with internal and external modellers and assessors of climate data and related impacts. Andrew analyses and interprets climate data in response to commercial requests for information, oversees the provision of relevant up-to-date climate information on the NIWA webpages, and acts as a NCC liaison with the media. He also fosters and promotes effective end-user communication of climate science and its applications. 
Position: 
Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate
Phone: 
+64-4-386-0928
Email: 
Olaf.Morgenstern@niwa.co.nz
Olaf holds a PhD in meteorology and worked in the UK and Germany on the development of atmospheric chemistry and chemistry-climate models. He is leading the NIWA Climate Variability and Change Programme, which focusses on using global and regional climate models and a hydrology model to predict climate globally and for the New Zealand region, ranging from seasonal to centennial timescales. He is leading the Earth System Modelling and Predictions programme for the Deep South National Science Challenge, which is tasked with developing and exploiting the New Zealand Earth System Model and to downscale these results. He is a Lead Author of the 6th Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), is representing NIWA in the Unified Model Global Model Configuration Group, and is a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of the Chemistry-Climate Model Initiative (CCMI). He has been involved in the past three WMO Scientific Assessments of Ozone Depletion, in 2010 as a Lead Author.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Rob Bell Principal Scientist - Coastal and Estuarine Physical Processes Rob.Bell@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1742
Tony Bromley Principal Technician - Atmosphere Tony.Bromley@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0340
Dr Trevor Carey-Smith Climate Scientist Trevor.Carey-Smith@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0394
Amelia Connell Marine Biology Technician Amelia.Connell@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0571
Dr Sam Dean Chief Scientist - Climate, Atmosphere and Hazards Sam.Dean@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0368
Wills Dobson Atmospheric Technician Wills.Dobson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0406
Dr Nicolas Fauchereau Climate Scientist Nicolas.Fauchereau@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-6332
Andrew Harper Principal Technician - Climate Andrew.Harper@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7824
Roddy Henderson Hydrologist Roddy.Henderson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7873
Dr Darren King Environmental Scientist Darren.King@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2086
Michael Kotkamp Atmospheric Technician Michael.Kotkamp@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0434
Errol Lewthwaite Principal Technician - Climate Errol.Lewthwaite@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0472
Ben Liley Atmospheric Scientist Ben.Liley@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0427
Dr Andrew Lorrey Principal Scientist - Climate Applications Andrew.Lorrey@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-2055
Gregor Macara Climate Scientist Gregor.Macara@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0509
Ross Martin Principal Technician - Atmosphere Ross.Martin@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0384
Dr Richard McKenzie Emeritus Researcher – Atmospheric Radiation Richard.McKenzie@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0429
Dr Sara Mikaloff-Fletcher Atmosphere-Ocean Scientist Sara.Mikaloff-Fletcher@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0924
Dr Olaf Morgenstern Principal Scientist - Atmosphere and Climate Olaf.Morgenstern@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0928
Dr Brett Mullan Principal Scientist - Climate Brett.Mullan@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0508
Sylvia Nichol Atmospheric Scientist Sylvia.Nichol@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0396
Alan Porteous Climate Scientist Alan.Porteous@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0533
Dr Richard Querel Atmospheric Scientist Richard.Querel@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0400
Dr Graham Rickard Marine Physics Modeller Graham.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0311
John Robinson Principal Technician - Atmosphere John.Robinson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0433
Dr Suzanne Rosier Climate Scientist Suzanne.Rosier@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0312
Dr Helen Rouse Regional Manager - Christchurch and Nelson Helen.Rouse@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8037
Hisako Shiona Atmospheric Technician Hisako.Shiona@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7860
Seema Singh Climate Technician Seema.Singh@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0494
Dan Smale Principal Technician - Atmosphere Dan.Smale@niwa.co.nz +64-3-440-0424
Dr Abha Sood Climate Scientist Abha.Sood@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0577
Dr Tilmann Steinmetz GIS Data Analyst & Administrator Tilmann.Steinmetz@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0535
Stephen Stuart Climate Scientist Stephen.Stuart@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0353
Dr Andrew Tait Principal Scientist - Climate Andrew.Tait@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0562
Linda Wang Climate Technician Linda.Wang@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0512
Dr Jonny Williams Climate Scientist Jonny.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0303
Dr Mike Williams Principal Scientist - Marine Physics Mike.Williams@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0389
Dr Christian Zammit Hydrologist Christian.Zammit@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7879
Dr Guang Zeng Atmospheric Scientist Guang.Zeng@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0929