Aquaculture key contacts

NIWA's aquaculture centre draws from a broad base of expertise to provide solutions for New Zealand's marine farming sector.

Position: 
Chief Scientist - Aquaculture & Biotechnology
Phone: 
+64-9-432-5521
Email: 
Andrew.Forsythe@niwa.co.nz
Andrew is a veterinarian with a DVM from the University of Prince Edward Island. He came to NIWA in 2005 with more than 20 years of aquaculture industry experience from North America and Europe, and took up his current role in 2007. 
Position: 
Assistant Regional Manager - Auckland
Phone: 
+64-9-375-4539
Email: 
Michael.Bruce@niwa.co.nz
Michael recieved his PhD from the Institute od Aqauculture at Stirling University in Scotland working on Atlantic halibut and the European sea bass and seabream.  His specialist areas cover broodstock to commercial on-growing, more recently with success on kingfish production process development and commercialisation.  Michael's current role as assistant regional manager encompasses a wide range of NIWA's activities operations and science delivery.

Full Staff List

Position Email Phone (external)
Dr Neill Barr Principal Technician - Marine Ecology Neill.Barr@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0606
Dr Mike Beentjes Fisheries Scientist Mike.Beentjes@niwa.co.nz +64-3-471-7767
Dr Jaret Bilewitch Molecular Technician Jaret.Bilewitch@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0502
Anna Bradley Marine Ecology Technician Anna.Bradley@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7742
Jamie-Lee Brewer Aquaculture Technician Jamie-Lee.Brewer@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5534
Dr Niall Broekhuizen Principal Scientist - Ecosystem Modelling Niall.Broekhuizen@niwa.co.nz +64-7-856-1798
Dr Michael Bruce Assistant Regional Manager - Auckland Michael.Bruce@niwa.co.nz +64-9-375-4539
Megan Carter Marine Ecology Technician Megan.Carter@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7748
Dr Hoe Chang Emeritus - Marine Biologist Hoe.Chang@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0360
Dr Serena Cox Marine Biologist Serena.Cox@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0364
Dr Rupert Craggs Principal Scientist - Aquatic Pollution Rupert.Craggs@niwa.co.nz +64-7-859-1807
Niki Davey Marine Ecologist Niki.Davey@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7736
Mark Gall Marine Ecologist Mark.Gall@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0514
Debbie Hulston Principal Technician - Microbial Ecology Debbie.Hulston@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0593
Dr Anna Kilimnik Mass Spectrometry Technician Anna.Kilimnik@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0918
Graeme Moss Marine Biologist Graeme.Moss@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0540
Mike Page Marine Ecologist Mike.Page@niwa.co.nz +64-3-545-7743
Dr Jeffrey Ren Marine Ecologist Jeffrey.Ren@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8032
Dr Graham Rickard Marine Physics Modeller Graham.Rickard@niwa.co.nz +64-4-386-0311
Karen Robinson Marine Ecology Technician Karen.Robinson@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7826
Paul Sagar Marine Ecologist Paul.Sagar@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7855
Dr Alvin Setiawan Aquaculture Scientist Alvin.Setiawan@niwa.co.nz +64-9-432-5509
Carina Sim-Smith Scientist Carina.Sim-Smith@niwa.co.nz
Dr Jeanie Stenton-Dozey Marine Ecologist Jeanie.Stenton-Dozey@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-8030
Martin Unwin Data Analyst Martin.Unwin@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7885
Dr John Zeldis Principal Scientist - Marine Ecology John.Zeldis@niwa.co.nz +64-3-343-7813