Excellence Awards and National Photography Competitions 2013 winners announced

Last night, NIWA held its annual Excellence Awards, recognising those NIWA people who have made an exceptional contribution to the organisation.

The Health and Safety Award was presented to Steve Mercer for driving the evolution of NIWA's health and safety culture and processes.

The Support Services Award was presented to Shareen Sharma-Prasad for being unfailingly prompt, courteous and helpful in her role as Payroll Manager.

The Customer Focus Award was presented to Alan Porteous for his climate outreach and applications in New Zealand, and his key role in developing and managing NIWA's climate-related activities in the Pacific.

The Leadership Award was presented to Alison MacDiarmid for working tirelessly and successfully to build NIWA's credibility and delivery to customers with an interest in seabed resources.

The Operational Innovation Award was presented to Tim Allen for completely redesigning and overhauling procurement at NIWA, making substantial savings.

The Project Delivery Award was presented to Bernard Miville for leading NIWA's operational forecasting services, ensuring that a wide range of clients have access to our forecasting science in a form that meets their requirements.

The Science Communication Award was presented to David Wratt for being an outstanding communicator and leader in climate and climate-change science. He is a representative on the IPCC Bureau and heads the New Zealand Climate Change Centre.

The Early Career Science Award was presented to Paul Franklin for his rapidly expanding scientific expertise in ecohydraulics and fisheries which are now being applied to water allocation, through highly effective advice to regional councils.

The Applied Science Excellence Award was presented to Michael Uddstrom for leading the science behind forecasting for weather-related decision-making, realising the benefits of research by applying it to specific user needs.

The Research Excellence Award was presented to Cliff Law for pioneering and participating in major iron fertilisation experiments in many of the world's oceans.

Michelle Kelley received the Extraordinary Achievement Award in recognition of her work as a taxonomist and her contributions to such diverse fields as natural products and drug discovery, aquaculture, biodiversity assessment and conservation management.

Tony Bromley received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work with NIWA, and predecessor organisations, over the past 50 years. His contribution to meteorological investigations and atmospheric sampling has been hugely valuable.

See the full list, including the runners-up.

NIWA has also just announced the winners of our photographic competition. Thanks to all of the NIWA staff and public that cast their vote.

The Our People winner was Crispin Middleton for Pre-dawn start in New Zealand's most Northerly Harbour, Parengarenga.

The Our Places winner was Jean Keddy for Spotlight on Tapu te Ranga.

The Our Work winner was Daniel Leduc for Nematode from Chatham Rise crest sediments.

The Special Award winner was Crispin Middleton for John Dory cruising Northern Arch.

The Judge's Choice winner was James Williams for That's Amore, selected by a panel made up of NIWA photographer Dave Allen, Chief Financial Officer (and keen photographer) Michael Parrott and professional photographer Gerry le Roux. 

Dave Allen
CEO John Morgan at the Excellence Awards 2013. [Dave Allen]
Dave Allen
Chairman Chris Mace at the Excellence Awards 2013. [Dave Allen]
Dave Allen
Operational Innovation winner Tim Allen at the Excellence Awards 2013. [Dave Allen]
Dave Allen
Lifetime Achievement winner Tony Bromley at the Excellence Awards 2013. [Dave Allen]