Energy sector

NIWA provides a wide range of research and consultancy services to the energy sector, including resource assessment, monitoring and forecasting, environmental impact assessments and mitigation. Our work is helping New Zealand to move towards being powered by sustainable and low carbon technology.

 

Hydro

Our world class observation networks and computer modelling provide the foundation for planning and operating hydroelectric projects.

Contact

Roddy Henderson
roddy.henderson@niwa.co.nz

Wind

Quantifying the resource and forecasting its variability. 

Contact

Richard Turner
richard.turner@niwa.co.nz

Transmission and management

Understanding the climate is essential for network management.

Contact

Michael Uddstrom
michael.uddstrom@niwa.co.nz

Marine (wave and tidal)

Keeping ahead of international energy generation trends.

Watch our video 'Current conversion - tidal and wave energy in New Zealand' to learn more about our work

Contact

Craig Stevens
craig.stevens@niwa.co.nz

Bio-gas and bio-oil

Managing waste and generating revenue.

Contact

Rupert Craggs
rupert.craggs@niwa.co.nz

Solar

Optimising your investment.

Contact

Ben Liley
ben.liley@niwa.co.nz

Clyde Hydro Dam. [Alan Blacklock]
Wind turbine. [NIWA]
Clyde Pylons. [Alan Blacklock]
Modelled hot spots for tidal energy in Cook Strait. Currents in these areas can reach several metres per second. [Rym Msadek]
Greta Point solar panels. [Dave Allen]